May 01, 2013

CGDC at the Distinguished Leadership Award Ceremony in Washington D.C.

On May 01, the Atlantic Council brought together more than 700 international leaders of business, government, and diplomacy to present the annual Distinguished Leadership Awards. CGDC Secretary General Stamen Stantchev attended the ceremony to acknowledge that the Center for Global Dialogue and Cooperation – CGDC and the Atlantic Council, along with other like-minded international organizations and global partners, are united by common values and goals. We all consider constructive leadership vital to address successfully the rising tide of global challenges. Therefore, it is important to celebrate the most inspirational world leaders. The awards were presented in the categories: political, business, humanitarian, and artistic leadership.

At the ceremony, NATO Secretary General Anders Fogh Rasmussen accepted the Distinguished International Leadership Award. Next, Chevron Chairman and CEO John Watson was honored with the Distinguished Business Leadership Award for his enduring contribution to promoting economic growth around the world. Latin rock star Juanes took the stage to accept the Distinguished Humanitarian Leadership Award recognizing the humanitarian work and social activism of his Mi Sangre Foundation. President Bill Clinton presented the next award via video address to legendary performer and humanitarian Tony Bennett for his Distinguished Artistic Leadership. The final award for Distinguished International Leadership was granted to former First Lady, US Senator, and US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton. She was presented with video tributes by President of Malawi Joyce Banda and world – renowned activist Aung San Suu Kyi, and introduced in person by former Secretary of State and National Security Advisor Dr. Henry Kissinger. Previous recipients of this award include President George H.W. Bush, President Bill Clinton, UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon, former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, and former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl.